Skip to content

“Sorry…”

February 8, 2011

I was shocked when I heard the tragic news about the death of former AFP chief Angelo Reyes. I didn’t see it coming. I never

May he rest in peace...

May he rest in peace...

thought the retired general would take his own life. I sincerely felt sorry for the Reyes family.

“Sorry” was the ex-general’s’ last word. A witnessed to the death of former President Gloria Arroyo’s most trusted man in the armed forces was quoted as saying: “I heard him say ‘sorry,’ perhaps to his son.” Yes, perhaps to his son… to his most beloved mother… to his family… or to the Filipino nation.

The 65-year-old general visited his mother’s grave before doing the unthinkable.

The ex-general’s death reminds me of the most dramatic scene of my most favorite television drama “Jewel in the Palace.” A YouTube clip titled this poignant scene “Death of Madam Choi.” No, in this clip Angelo Reyes is certainly NOT Madam Choi, but the general’s ex-boss, Gloria Arroyo. Madam Choi is of course the villain of the blockbuster Korean telenovela, Dae Jang Geum or Jewel in the Palace

I believe Ms Arroyo should be uttering Madam Choi’s final words to the Filipino nation: “Please forgive me for being born in that kind of family. Please forgive me that I can’t leave the chains that my family brings me…”

Some of us are victims of our own mistakes and refusal to think. But many in this poor nation are victims of their own family…

My heartfelt condolences to the Reyes family.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

