Skip to content

Sun Cellular Broadband Service: Very, Very Unreliable During Bad Times

July 18, 2010

For the very first time since I decided to subscribe to Sun cellular in 2007, the company that first offered the cheapest internet service, I’ve just experienced

Why I'm mad!!!

Why I'm mad!!!

irritatingly poor and virtually no internet connection. I’m one of the very first subscribers of the telecom company so I know how it performed in so far as providing internet service is concerned. After a few days since typhoon “Basyang” hit the country, my final verdict is that Sun Cellular broadband service is unreliable and undependable during bad times.

And because the company’s internet service is very unreliable, I’ll have to cut my over two-year subscription. So I’ll have to bid Sun Cellular adieu.

I tried to call the company several times, but I only had a single chance to relay my concern to its customer service representative. I was informed that the company had been trying to fix its connection problem, but I wasn’t given a definite period of time as to when the company was going to totally solve its service problem. All I knew and felt is that I could no longer wait. I’ll have to ditch the company and look for a more competent, more reliable, and more dependable one.

Of all internet service providers, I’m considering PLDT’s WeRoam service. I hope I’d be able to get my laptop running with PLDT’s internet service after ditching Sun.

I tried Smart in 2006 and I think it offered the worst kind of service. Before, Smart’s technicians had to install a broadband antenna on top of my apartment for me to get internet connection. But after getting connection for over an hour, I had to contact Smart’s CSR to inform them that they had to fix my connection. In had the most irritating, most disappointing experience with Smart. The company sent their technicians to my apartment several times before I finally gave up. However, the company’s service center informed me that I had to follow the contract of adhesion I signed, which means that I was bound by the one-year service contract and that I had to pay a pre-termination fee. What I did is that I sent a “hate” letter to Smart challenging the company to sue me. It didn’t.

I also tried Globe since Sun Cellular’s coverage is only within Metro Manila area. I used Globe whenever I was in the province. However, I won’t recommend it.

So what happened to Sun Cellular Broadband service? It’s simply one of the biggest casualties of typhoon Basyang. It means that we have to expect more of Sun’s poor and no connection service this year. The only good thing about the company is that it offers a relatively  cheap service. But we want a reliable, continuous, and dependable service.

Now I’m considering PLDT. However, the problem with PLDT, according to some of its unhappy subscribers, is that it has “hidden charges.” Some say that’s business. I say that’s not business. It’s self-destructive business. A company cannot steal the money of its consumers and go away with its bad deeds. The free-market system will definitely kill such a company. Offering bad services is not to be called “business.” It’s a corporate act of self-destruction. Business means a company has to offer reliable, good, dependable, and quality services to its consumers at a market or reasonable price in order to attract more loyal consumers or subscribers and to able to beat its competitors.

Well, this is my consumer vote. If you hate how your company performs, ditch it! However, don’t ever attempt to ask the government to punish these incompetent or fraud companies by means of state intervention in business activities. The best way to punish these companies is stop buying their products or services or sue them for damages in case you incurred injury.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 3:38

    “Well, this is my consumer vote. If you hate how your company performs, ditch it! However, don’t ever attempt to ask the government to punish these incompetent or fraud companies by means of state intervention in business activities. The best way to punish these companies is stop buying their products or services or sue them for damages in case you incurred injury.”

    Yeah! Right on!

    • July 18, 2010 3:38

      Thanks, Josh…

  2. rob permalink
    July 18, 2010 3:38

    so, what’s the definite time that sun gave?

    • July 18, 2010 3:38

      Well, it has a very unreliable performance so I we don’t have to expect much from Sun.

      • sunspots permalink
        July 19, 2010 3:38

        And to quote US Senator Paul Laxalt, “Cut, and cut cleanly.”

  3. cho Nananene permalink
    July 18, 2010 3:38

    stress, stress, stress…I am all stress out…why some business, don’t realize how they stress out their customers, cients, supporters, contrubutors etc etc..? without them they are nothing…ika nga “customer is always right”..That is why open market is good…we should have lot of competition so that they perfected their product, ika nga hihigpit ang labanan. Philippines internet company I believe are:Global, Smart, Pldt? Other country for eaxample US are..(nation wide)Verizon, AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobil,of late is Cricket. Cricket is fairly new and cheap but unfortunately it only serves limited area, (no roaming) meaning if you cross the stateline like; you’re from Tennessee then you cross country to Texas, you lose your signal already…I am one cell phone & internet crusader, I am popular when it comes to compaint, the reason is I made it a career when my son pull me down the drain with his numerous breach of 2 years contracts with all these internet providers. When it comes to net fight I am all wired up !

  4. July 20, 2010 3:38

    So that explains why I’m having such a hard time connecting to the net. I couldn’t check my emails at yahoo even after waiting for like 30mins. lol But I’m not sure why I could still check my gmail account and surf at google… but its still very very very slow! Anyway, thanks for this post, at least now I know it wasn’t my laptop or br0wser’s fault. I don’t really like calling their hotline cause I always have a feeling I’ll end up ruining my day due to higher chances of just wasting my time.hehe But I still hope the problem gets fix as soon as possible.

    • July 20, 2010 3:38

      I just paid my broadband bill with Sun and they said that they had to fix their facilities and system. I also learned that a lot of payees also experienced the same problem. Although there’s no official assurance whether they finally fixed their service problem.

  5. leslie permalink
    July 26, 2010 3:38

    were u able to solve the sun broadband problem. it is 1 week after typhoon basyang.. this morning 7/26 the connection is 5 kbps… now it is 2.5kbps… so irritrating.. mas mabilis yata ang dial up

    stress stress stress nga.. waiting all day hoping for a faster connection.. their customer service also cant resolve the problem.

  6. fakename permalink
    July 31, 2010 3:38

    ayoko na ng sun! 1st day palang ng gamit ko, sobrang bagal talaga. THE SLOWEST na naexperience ko.. mag smart bro nalang kayo.. mas ok pa.

  7. mobster boss permalink
    September 18, 2010 3:38

    i just hope that all of those mother fucker in sun cellular company burn in hell, they are all cheater,liars, and thieves, horrible people, die you fuckin assholes!

  8. toni permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:38

    bakit ganon ang tagal ko na sa sun kung kailan pa nag 1year ako sa kanila saka lagi nka lagay webpage not available ano ba yan ayusin u naman .sa loo ng bahay namin 4 kmi ang may loptop shittt talaga .inde kami mka pag facebook un lang ang libangan namin pag datingng trabho…………..ayusin u signal nyo plzzzzzzzzd2 sa welfareville mandaluyong city.

    • toni permalink
      October 8, 2010 3:38

      paano nyo pa mapa dami ang costumer nyo kong ganyan kau mag rally kaya kami sa sun ano kaya maramdaman nyooooooooo

  9. November 24, 2010 3:38

    most broadband services are crappy, they can’t maintain high data transfer rates ~,.

  10. September 9, 2012 3:38

    good they went kaput absorbed by pldt but still so bad. I was sweet talked by that girl with devilish grin in sm molino to shift from globe wimax. too good i was having a hell of time for the past month. just subscribed last august 15 2012. the first week was good but eversince
    browser wont even load a sun homepage

  11. Matt permalink
    January 27, 2013 3:38

    I am experiencing now with Sun very very slow connection. It was not like this before at least 3 weeks ago. It was not too fast but it was ok for connection. But this changed all of sudden maybe 2 weeks ago. Now it is really slow like 20k – 30k only. I can not connect many website anymore. What happened Sun Broadband??? They should explain to us if ever any problem. What does it mean by fast, reliable, consistent? These words are not true for sun for couple weeks so far. I am irritated and frustrated. Sun is not good company… Maybe because merging with PLDT, Smart? Please do improvements! Agree?

  12. jason manalo permalink
    June 17, 2014 3:38

    walang kuwenta ang dun

  13. jason manalo permalink
    June 17, 2014 3:38

    ang sagal ng sunbroadband at wala kuwenta

  14. jason manalo permalink
    June 17, 2014 3:38

    ang bagal n ang kupal pa

  15. Juan Presinto permalink
    May 26, 2016 3:38

    Corrupt po ang sun. Nakikishare lang ng signal sa ibang tower ng ibang telecom. fastest internet speed ko po sa sun 30 kbps daig pa ng mobile data ko ng globe 700 kbps. kaya nga cellphone nalang gamit ko eh

Trackbacks

  1. A Coffee Break at Caffee Poli… Not Starbucks! « THE VINCENTON POST

Leave a Reply

