Skip to content

Why I love Starbucks and Ayn Rand

December 19, 2009

I just love coffee...

I just love coffee...

Yes, I’m an atheist but that doesn’t mean I won’t celebrate Christmas. This yuletide season, there are a lot of things to do, like going to mall, window shopping, reading new books or rereading my favorite books, ordering my favorite coffee at Starbucks, among others. I’m fond of going out alone because I want to spend my time however I want to and go to cool, interesting places. Sometimes I go out with my roommate who also imbibed my addiction to Starbucks.

I just love coffee, and one of the things I like about Christmas is that this is the time wherein Starbucks offers its seasonal products. No, I’m not into Frappuccino, although there was a time when I was addicted to their ice-blended smooth beverages. I stopped ordering Frap upon learning that that this product has a lot of calories. At the counter, I’d usually order any hot beverage and the choice of product depends upon my mood. If I wanted to have my caffeine fix, I would take Café Latte or hot Dark Mocha. If in the mood, I’d order hot Signature Choco or Tazo Tea. Yes, most of the people close to me have been influenced by my coffee-addiction. Whenever I go to any coffee shop, I can’t leave behind my laptop. Yes, I’m like those techie people who can’t live without checking their Facebook or surfing the net.

They say writers are coffee lovers. My response to this would be Yes and No. I just love to drink coffee whenever I want to unwind. It’s not my habit to take a sip of my favorite java brand while writing. When composing my thoughts I don’t want any destruction or anything that would interrupt the flow of ideas in my head. I love coffee because it helps in bringing out the ideas in my subconscious mind. I think it’s a healthy substitute for a stick of ‘yucky’ cigarette.

I remember when I was still editing our weekly campus paper, I’d start editing, no, revising, all the crappy stories that my senior heads submitted to me at 11p.m. or 12 midnight. There was always a cup of coffee on my computer table, and seating beside me would be a regular or probationary staff writer for what we call “desking” (which means redoing the story of the staff). I understood that time that a cup of brewed coffee had a very important role in neutralizing my temper. Revising articles is one of the things that every publication editor really hates to do. I consider it a “monstrous” job because apart from yelling and cursing at the one who wrote the story, the entire article had to be massacred until nary a single sentence was left from the original draft. I wasn’t yet an Objectivist that time and I had this problem with my temper whenever given with a badly written feature article or news story. Well, who wouldn’t lose his mind if faced with the job of revising all the stories of the staff and producing a weekly issue for publication?

Next to deliciously brewed java are good books. I liked reading fiction books when I was in high school. Modesty aside, I published my first short story in a national magazine when I was in high school. As a first year college, I worked as a novelist for Universal Publishing, the sister company of Universal Records. Whenever I went to the publication office to get my paycheck, the secretary or staff would call me “wonder boy.” But that was a long time ago. No, I’m not proud of my previous stories. I believe they were all a good example of a naturalistic school of art in literature that I now reject.

Atlas Shrugged

Atlas Shrugged

I was in law school when I discovered the works of Ayn Rand. I was totally blown away after reading Ms Rand’s bestselling book The Fountainhead. A ruthless critic of mine introduced me to Ayn Rand. I was scheduled to meet the chairman of my university when this man, who was the former Press Secretary of former President Diosdado Macapagal, asked what particular books I read. The man’s face turned sour when I told him I had no time to read books other than law books. “Here,” he said, as he reached for his pen, “read these books.” After a few seconds, he handed a piece of paper bearing the words— “Anthem,” “The Fountainhead,” and “Atlas Shrugged” by Ayn Rand. The expression on his face remained the same, and then he said calmly, “My favorite book is The Fountainhead.” May God bless this man.

My favorite fiction book is Atlas Shrugged. I can only summarize this more than 1000-page book into a single line— it’s the story of an uncompromising, intransigent man who led a strike against a self-sacrificing, anti-man society, and won. I learned from this book that if we want to live on earth as a human being, we should only choose and take only those that make life possible.

Yes, there are a lot of things to do this Christmas, and this is my first time to celebrate the yuletide season as an atheist. Things in my mind include good books, an official website, a series of workouts at a gym, more blogs, and a degree in LLB.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 3:38

    I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

  2. sam permalink
    August 26, 2010 3:38

    I love Ayn Rand and coffee. I fell in love with her while reading Atlas Shrugged and dream of wanting to be just like Dagny Taggart.

    It’s nice to have a kindred spirit.

Trackbacks

  1. THE VINCENTON POST
  2. A Coffee Break at Caffee Poli… Not Starbucks! « THE VINCENTON POST

Leave a Reply

