Skip to content

A Long Journey From Faith To Reason

October 9, 2009

And if any civilization is to survive, it is the morality of altruism that men have to reject.

The following is from Dwight who reacted to my blog entry entitled Update: The Philosophy of Academic Racism:

“I do not agree with many of your points and I didn’t enjoy the writing style that much; but I do like the way you’re questioning things and shaking them up.

It’s sad to see so many people resort to name-dropping and personal attacks; like you said, it simply proves a lot are not open toreasoning.

Hopefully, people reading your posts realize that these thoughts are meant to challenge themselves and question who they really are and what they stand for. The point of any philosophy after all is to ask questions that will get us closer and closer to the truth, which will always elude us due to the depth of reality itself.

PS. In your free time, also try questioning Rand’s views. She may be a genius, but like any other human being, she does have her flaws.”

The following is my response:

I find Ayn Rand’s ideas real and unassailable. They correspond to reality. I have to tell you that I went through a very long process of “intellectual detoxification” (or call it what you will) before I came to understand the essence of her philosophy. It’s a very rigorous and painful process. It is painful because I had to reject things that I embraced for  years- like religion, philosophical dogmatism, belief in altruism, etc. I felt like I was a victim of the kind of education most schools, intellectuals and the ideological structure offer to people. I had to start all over again and try to connect the dots. I had to rediscover myself, to know my purpose, and to understand my sense of life. I have critiqued Rand’s views only to find out I was wrong—only to find out I was deceived by the social and ideological structure we have today. I’m speaking about education and the ideological dogma of this country as a whole.

I will say it again here—the worst threat to our freedom and our country are the universities.

I came to understand life and reality better. Her philosophy is only for living on earth. It is only for those who are willing to think and who regard self-sacrifice as anti-Man. It exalts the virtue of freedom, ego and self-esteem. It considers faith and altruism evil. It regards taking things on faith as immoral. I came from a very religious family. But this I also had to give up. I know the contents of the Bible more than any average Catholics do. Am I an atheist? I’m a person who does not take things on faith. By taking things on faith means I have to absorb, accept and embrace things that do not correspond to reality sans evidence or proof.

I was in high school when I first encountered this following quotation from Galileo Galilei: “I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason, and intellect has intended us to forgo their use.” I didn’t understand what this great ancient scientist meant until I met Ayn Rand. Perhaps the nature of God Galileo was referring to is not the biblical God, but the God of reason and justice. I found out that the bible has a lot of inconsistencies and contradictions. I had to give it up.

Ayn Rand may be a genius, but I would like to think she was simply ahead of her time. She practiced individualism. She came from a wealthy family. Her father, a businessman, ran a successful pharmacy. But the fruit of his hard work, which he toiled for years, vanished overnight when the communists confiscated his company in order to redistribute it to the proletariats. She left Russia in 1921 and in the United States, with insufficient money to survive, she had to work odd jobs. She became one of the most popular and most debated American authors of the last century. She achieved literary success without asking help from anybody—without any supporter among the media institutions. She relied only on her own ability. She struggled. She resisted. She survived. She lives on.

If there’s one person who can save this country from the academic prattle, anti-reason educational institutions, intellectual gigolos and unemployed politicians, it will be Ayn Rand, along with the like of Ludwig von Mises and some honest intellectuals. I will say it again here—the worst threat to our freedom and our country are the universities. These universities may have advanced facilities, but these are all futile when their teachings and philosophies would turn young people into self-sacrificing and altruistic humanoids. They can produce businessmen, but the question is what kind of businessmen? Businessmen who rely on the philosophy of pragmatism– on mooching instead of relying on their own– on earning government favors– on establishing political connections to destroy their competitors. These universities can produce politicians, but what brand of political mammals? Politicians who preach the virtue of altruism– who believe that redistribution of wealth is good for the country– that a so-called New Society or whatever would foster freedom and progress for the country– that the common good consists in sacrificing the good to the inept, the rich to the poor, the strong to the weak. These universities would only produce politicians who believe that power means empowering military personnel and generals and appointing the inept, the second-hander and cowardly people to government departments and offices.

Can the universities save this country and its people? Well, who is John Galt?

The modern technologies and facilities that schools and universities provide mean nothing to the brand of philosophy that they offer. Perhaps the problem is that this country lacks intellectual leadership. You must have heard of that most publicized “moral revolution” slogan being advertised by a number of public figures. But did they ever reveal the meaning or essence of their brand of revolution? Were they able to define the meaning of morality? Their brand of morality is vague, undefined and indefinable. But it’s plain and clear– their morality is the morality of altruism. And if any civilization is to survive, it is the morality of altruism that rational men have to reject. Can the universities save this country and its people? Well, who is John Galt?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 3:38

    Hi,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

Trackbacks

  1. When UAAP is Reduced to Mere Academic Bigotry; When a School Preaches Anti-Reason and Bigotry « IDEOLOGICAL SOUP

Leave a Reply

