Skip to content

Life in Law School

February 4, 2008

I hate to know how many subjects I still have to enroll.

I hate to think of the remaining subjects I still have to take.

Ah, what can you do when you deal with difficult bar subjects?

Yes, I’ve already spent quite some time in my university studying provisions of the law and their application to contemporary time, yet I’ve not felt that thing they call “calling.”

What is it? I asked a friend.

It’s that feeling or particular event or occurrence that gives you some idea that this is it, he simply explained.

Like when you pray that He’d give you a sign? I asked. Like flower or dove or ballpen? Any sign, he said. Until I bought the idea that that thing or feeling they call “calling” really exists.

Believe, they say, because belief will make things happen. Ah, they’re talking about faith, like the faith that heals. Yes, faith healers do exist in this country, especially when times are bad. That’s why everybody knows about that healing priest who healed sick people and even resurrected a dead woman.

I don’t want to think I’ll be enrolling a round of bar subjects like Civil Procedure 2 and other review subjects next semester.

Well, I was kind of forced to take up law after finishing Communication Arts. I decided when I got my high school diploma to be a journalist someday until that time came when a wave of killings of journalists hit the headlines. It neither gave me the creeps nor discouraged me to try journalism someday. Instead it even inspired me to try political writing.

To me, we are what we see and witness. We live in a time when injustice is at its worst level. What can we do when we think of things? What can we do when we deal with people and ideas?

Although these did not encourage me to love my course. I don’t know why. I study my lessons for the sake of passing and surpassing the QPI— that cut-off grade which determines whether you still deserve to go forth or start planting kamote in the province (if you’re a probinsiyano) or just go back home and burn your house (if you’re just staying in the metropolis.)

Luckily I’ve never thought of planting kamote yet.

For the past semesters I always got to meet our vice-dean and for every meeting he always had some good advice and that sad look— that look that would make you feel like you’ve done something wrong. And then he would say, “try harder this time. You know only those who get a grade of 2 (equivalent to 85 percent) pass the bar.”

Then he would tell me that study they’ve conducted why bar examinees failed the bar and that they’ve arrived at set of statistics that would show only those who averaged 2 or better were able to hurdle the exams. The funny thing is that I got almost the same advice as that he said the past semester or two.

The next time I meet him, I’m going to bring a tape recorder,” said a classmate. I’ll bring mine, too.

This semester I was only allowed to enroll four subjects. That’s the penalty for not making a good grade. In my school they call that probationary period.

I have a good deal of subjects like Taxation, Succession, Partnership and Civil Procedure.

Taxation is kind of interesting subject because aside from death, tax is inevitable to man. As what my professor said, all are being taxed these days, only air is exempted from taxation. She even joked that perhaps there will come a time when lawmakers include air in the taxable items. The bad thing is that I don’t know if I could pass the subject.

Succession, on the other hand, is a morbid subject. We talk about death and succession, another mode of acquisition, and it only happens when someone dies (although there’s exception to the rule.) Among the difficult law subjects, the provisions on succession are sort of tricky and deceiving. It is easy to understand their provisions but things change when given a tricky question.

Civil procedure, apart from criminal procedure, contains rules of court to be broken and circumvented by some enterprising lawyers. My professor said that lack of mastery of the rules could cost your client his life, liberty and property due to technicality.

My professor in partnership once said that most lawyers are arrogant and narcissistic. That when you’re a lawyer you’re expected to know all. Perhaps that’s the reason why there are many students taking up law these days.

Really, we are becoming a nation of lawyers…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

